The Hobbyholic

I can quit any time.

Pie Baking Contest August 5, 2009

Filed under: Baking — thehobbyholic @ 6:10 pm

Today, I am entering my first pie baking contest and I am kind of excited. I am a bit surprised it has taken me this long be a contestant, but in Los Angeles, the opportunities weren’t as frequent as I am sure they will be here in Katy. I don’t have any unrealistic ideas that I will win, but I would be happy if I did. I do love to bake and I’m always up for a challenge.

My first thought was to make a lemon meringue pie. But with the humidity what it is here (lots of it!) and after a discussion with my sister, I decided not to do that. Besides, why go through all the effort and time to bake such an elaborate dessert and not get to sample any of it. So I went with what was in season. Blueberries.

Blueberry pie filling.

Blueberry pie filling.

I got the recipe for the filling from Baking:From My Home to Yours by Dorie Greenspan. Blueberries, sugar, flour, lemon zest and a little lemon juice. I decided not to follow the crust recipe and used a family recipe from my Grandma Ruby. I wanted to bring my β€œA” game, so for the first time, I tried my hand at a lattice top.

Lattice top blueberry pie.

Lattice top blueberry pie.

After an hour and some staging for the photo…

I am very happy with the final result.

I am very happy with the final result.

Now you might think I stopped there. But no. I couldn’t resist the rhubarb calling to me at the store. So I made a strawberry rhubarb pie as well.

IMG_3651

And since I wanted to up my chances of winning, I also made these.

Pie Pops

Pie Pops

I can not take credit for the idea. I first saw Pie pops on Luxirare last week. I thought they were cute, but didn’t entertain the idea of making them until this week while trying to figure out what pie to make for the bake off and I saw them on Bakerella. I knew that is what I had to make.

As far as I know, there are no categories for this contest, so I hoping I can be a new category of cuteness and win!

IMG_3649

IMG_3655

IMG_3656

IMG_3669

I also made banana bread…

IMG_3661

… just because.

 

4 Responses to “Pie Baking Contest”

  1. Charisse Says:

    OMG, Robin!! Those pies look FANTASTIC!!!

    (Saw the link to your blog on Facebook – hope you don’t mind me reading!)

    Now I’m so, so hungry! πŸ™‚

  2. Karen Says:

    Pie Pops!! OMGoodness!!! Super cute. I’m not a huge fan of pie, but I’ll eat anything on a stick!

  3. Megan Says:

    These look fantastic!! You were busy. πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

