The Hobbyholic

I can quit any time.

Guess what?! September 5, 2009

Filed under: Quilting — thehobbyholic @ 12:10 pm

It is official!! I am a quilt teacher. My name has been put on the calendar to teach my very first class. I even have one student already. Who paid. Money! To learn from ME! Can we say nervous?

IMG_3699

I will be teaching this quilt. It was a pattern by someone else, but had Y-seams all over the place. If you don’t know what that is – they aren’t that much fun. So, my mom figured out a way to have fewer Y-seams and now it goes together much easier!

The class is September 19th and the closer it gets the scarier it is. What happens if I run out of time and don’t get all the steps taught? What if they give me a bad evaluation? What if I get a student without a clue and I have no idea how to get them to understand? What if. What if. What if?! I shouldn’t let my mind wander this much, but these people (well, person) are paying money to learn something from me.

*Breath Robin. Breath!*

Okay. I’m back.

I’ll have to get my act together. Make lots of samples (as suggested by a wise friend of mine), and just jump in. (I’m saying these things to convince myself I can do it as much as I am explaining my thought process to anyone reading!)

A wise train once said, “I think I can. I think I can. I think I can.”

 

2 Responses to “Guess what?!”

  1. jen Says:

    Yay!!! congrats 🙂 i already know you’re a good quilting teacher – i didn’t ever really know how to use my machine & we made a quilt in a weekend 🙂 My two best teaching tip are to be enthusiastic & be patient. And don’t hesitate to offer constructive criticism (they’re paying to learn). You’ll do great!

  2. Sara Says:

    You’re going to do great!! I’m all for the more samples the better that way they can see what it should look like. Do people bring cameras and take pictures so they can remember what it should look like? I know that would help me but I’m not a quilter so maybe that’s taboo. The hardest part about teaching is talking out loud when you’re doing something at least that’s my biggest problem. I always feel ridiculous saying what I’m doing but once you get over that you’ll be fine. Plus it’s QUILTING and you love quilting!!!!


Leave a Reply

