The Hobbyholic

I can quit any time.

First Quilting Class September 19, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — thehobbyholic @ 11:37 pm

Today was my first quilting class as a teacher. I was a little nervous beforehand. After all, they were paying to learn something from me. What if they didn’t like it and demanded their money back? What if they made a big mistake and it was because of something I said. Of course, none of these things happened and the day went great.

I got there extra early so I wouldn’t be the slacker teacher type. I even swung by Wally World and got name tags so I would have some idea who was who. I had 4 people sign up for the class and all 4 showed up! That was exciting all by itself. I taught an intermediate class with some slightly more difficult techniques and yet a self proclaimed novice signed up. All in all it was a good first class and even the novice did well. Could have used a little more time, but I don’t feel I rushed or had to skip anything important to get the main focus of the class accomplished. I forgot to get a group photo with everyone and their first block. Here are two I snapped at the end.
IMG_3920IMG_3921
To celebrate my wonderful teaching day I enjoyed a Sonic Cherry Limeade and made jiffy pop for the first time.
IMG_3922IMG_3923IMG_3924
IMG_3925IMG_3926IMG_3928IMG_3929

 

4 Responses to “First Quilting Class”

  1. jen Says:

    yay! congrats! although I knew you were a fantastic teacher already 🙂

    hope you get to do more!!!

  2. Joyce Young Says:

    Great! So, I guess you will sign up for more teaching! Can’t wait to hear all about it on Wednesday!

  3. Sara Says:

    You documented making Jiffy Pop?! If I would have only known you could have had jiffy pop, rode a horse AND made a frozen pizza all in one trip to MN. I had no idea you were this sheltered! Jiffy Pop is our “camping” popcorn I have some at home since we never made it camping maybe tonight is a Jiffy Pop night!!

  4. Mary Ellen Says:

    I don’t know which event I should congratulate you on – 1st time teaching a quilt class or 1st time making Jiffy Pop!!!! I’m glad your class went well – I knew you would do a good job.
    I love the documentation of the Jiffy Pop experience. It made me hungry for popcorn!


Leave a Reply

