The Hobbyholic

I can quit any time.

Learning to Crochet September 25, 2009

Filed under: Crochet — thehobbyholic @ 12:02 am

How long do you have to do a new craft before you can call it a hobby? 2 hours? Great! I now can add crocheting to my list of hobbies.

It all started about a month or two ago. I was at my sewing group on Wednesday and in walks a quilter MY AGE!!! I was shocked. Ellie stayed and even returned a few weeks later. During our conversation she mentioned that she knits at a shop that happened to be a mile and a half from my house and they have a group that meets Thursday nights. I didn’t think much else of it past that conversation. Then I talked to Jen.

Jen was telling me about her recent knitting projects and showed me a few pictures of what she was working on and I was inspired! I wanted to make cute socks too. Of course, I didn’t feel comfortable enough to just dive into socks so I looked high and low for the one project I had started years ago that I was even slightly interested in, but could not find it.

So two weeks ago I went to the Thursday evening knitting group and looked for a project to work on. I couldn’t find anything that sparked my interest, so I started make a scarf. I was sitting near a woman who was breezing through a sweater and she showed me how to cable knit. I was trilled. Unfortunately, I haven’t tried again since that night. All I could think of to try cabling on was a scarf. And well, I live in Houston, I have no need for a scarf. Ever.

I didn’t go last week but went back tonight. And I am so glad I did. Ellie was there and she taught me how to crochet! I still want to learn more about knitting, but nothing I could think of to make seemed all that exciting to me. Crochet was something I had only dabbled in years ago, and thus the appeal.

Here is the sampler I made tonight

Double crochet, half crochet and single crochet.

Double crochet, half crochet and single crochet.


I love the top and the way the fans turn out. I am going to practice that more. And then I might branch out and make a hat or something. I have seen some cute things I’d like to try. I also hear making animals are fun. Just have to find a kid to give them to!

So now I am waiting for my crochet hook set to arrive in the mail. I love ebay.

 

3 Responses to “Learning to Crochet”

  1. jen Says:

    fun! it looks really pretty too! nice & even.

    my friend makes crocheted dishcloths & gives them out as gifts. they’re great for cleaning & fast to work up. and it doesn’t require wearing your woolen products. just a thought.

  2. There is obviously a lot to know about this. There are some good points here.

  3. […] learned to crochet a while back and had heard about Tunisian crochet but hadn’t had the opportunity to take a […]


Leave a Reply

