The Hobbyholic

I can quit any time.

Down for the count March 4, 2010

Filed under: Knitting — thehobbyholic @ 8:41 pm

I have yet to progress in my sock endeavors. Well I progressed but then had to retreat. After my week long high from turning the heal of my very first sock, I waited to talk to an “expert” on the next step.

After a quick lesson on picking up stitches I was happily knitting away with excitement that the end (the toe) was in sight. 2+ hours into my happiness I checked my pattern to make sure I had the right number of stitches (a slipped stitch is not a good thing). To my dismay I should have been decreasing instead of simply knitting. A sub running the shop that night and there was some miscommunication between my understand of what she was saying and her assumption as to what I knew about the next part.  She said I could just leave the 8 some odd rows and start the gusset from there.

BUT my first pair of socks would always be staring at me. Yelling. You didn’t do it right!!

Once I got a consensus from the group, I started unknitting or what I have learned is called tinking. Let me tell you, it is not nearly as fun to tink as it is to knit. (I just realized why it is called tinking. *rolling eyes* k-n-i-t spelled backwards t-i-n-k.)

Okay. So I have learned a few things in this process. But process smocess! I’m too sick to go to knitting tonight so my sock has to wait another week! 😦

 

One Response to “Down for the count”

  1. jen Says:

    poor sock. but you’ll be so happy when you get there. extra points for the clever, punny title 🙂 that made me laugh.


Leave a comment