The Hobbyholic

I can quit any time.

Happy Fall Y’all October 7, 2014

Filed under: Baking — thehobbyholic @ 12:30 am

Even though the temperature here in Southern California is in triple digits once again we got a taste of fall last week. Cooler temps and well that always makes me want to bake.

Over the last 18 months or so I have had no desire to bake. My second daughter, Cake Pop, has so many food allergies that it is easier to list what she can have than what she can’t. It has been slow going and depressing as I can’t cook or bake the things I love and share with her. So instead I haven’t been baking at all. Not to mention my other daughter and myself can no longer eat gluten. Talk about depressing. And believe me, I know what I’m missing (tasty, tasty gluten filled things!!) and this isn’t something I give up lightly.

I have turned to sewing instead of baking and mostly because I’m nesting… more on that later.

Gluten free baking is, well, annoying in all honesty. There are so many flours to deal with and work arounds that are a pain. With two kids in the kitchen wanting to help, keeping track of which flour was used and how much was supposed to be used I just gave up. Something that came to me as second nature was no longer a joy to do but a hindrance. Not to mention all the failed recipes. Gluten free isn’t always very tasty. I’m not used to finding recipes that look so promising turn out so poorly. But now that I feel I am out of the food allergy haze with my second daughter I’ve been wanting to experiment more with gluten free baking.

Recently, Trader Joe’s came out with Gluten Free Pumpkin Pancake Mix.

33904-GF-pumpkin-pankcake-mix

It is Amazing!! So delicious. Wonderful flavor and texture. Pumpkin flavored things really make it fall and Trader Joe’s is knocking out of the park for this gluten free gal. Then my sister had a brilliant idea – use the mix to make scones. Starbucks pumpkin scones, scoot over. Gluten free pumpkin scones are what I need, and these are delivering. Delicious!

She used the recipe below and modified it.

Half the sugar and instead of the bisquick/gluten free flour she used the GF pancake mix. I made a powdered sugar, milk, glaze with a bit of cinnamon and cloves. So so yummy!

Blueberry Scones with Lemon Glaze
http://ezgf.blogspot.com/2013/09/these-blueberry-scones-with-their.html?m=1
Prep time: 15 min
Cook time: 14-16 min

Ingredients
1 cup of blueberries (rinsed drained)
3 eggs
2/3 cup heavy cream
2 cups gluten free self rising flour (or gluten free bisquick) & 1 tbsp divided
1/3 cup sugar
6 tbsp. cold diced butter
Ingredients For The Glaze
¾ of a cup of confectioner’s sugar
1 – 2 tbsp freshly squeezed lemon juice
½ tsp lemon zest

 

Leave a comment